Men’s Health and my health

An eon has elapsed since my last blog. I’m not sure I even remember what it’s all about anymore, or what it is that I do. Ah yes, angry rants. Unfortunately – or fortunately, depending how you look at it – this is specifically the problem. I just haven’t been that angry at anything lately, or more to the point, I haven’t had the time to be angry.

Some of you may be aware that I’ve spent the past fortnight on work experience at Men’s Health magazine (the thoughts expressed in this blog are those of the author (me) and do not represent the thoughts of Men’s Health magazine). Thought I’d add that in, lest I inadvertently enter in to some sort of intractable legal quagmire as a result of my horrible opinions. Anyway, although I’m enjoying myself, working here has zapped my usual abundant energy reserves, rendering me another commuter zombie – another grey face in the sea of grey faces – travelling back and forth between bed and office with little more than the London Lite and News at Ten to keep in touch with the real world. As such, I don’t have the time to digest and critique about four hours of TV every evening and nor do I have much time to pontificate on the bothersome aspects of society and, therefore, I have nothing to say.

I sat down to write this blog the other day and just looked at the screen for about five minutes before deciding that nothing in the world had irked me enough to mention. Amazing! . . . But is it?

Diligence and interest in work is certainly a positive in many ways – your employer will obviously be pleased, you’re probably enjoying your job so that’s a good thing and it’s going to do your career a favour – but it leaves a hole. A void of life experience and understanding that can’t be found in Microsoft Word or Excel, only through thinking and reading and learning and questioning. We’ve learnt the hard way that ignoring things outside of our general scope has its pitfalls, and now the mounting unemployed are striking back, releasing their previously undiscovered anger via protests at the G20 and the smashing up of Fred Goodwin’s stuff.

Perhaps if one positive can come from a high level of unemployment, it will be a greater understanding and interest among the public of the issues that affect them; because, at this juncture, that is what we need to change our collective history for the better.

2 Comments

Filed under Adam Mitchell

2 responses to “Men’s Health and my health

  1. cheggers139

    I don’t care how happy and fulfilling your life is, write an angst-ridden tirade for me to read.

  2. cheggers139

    Disappointed with the lack of haste my previous comment has engendered.

Leave a Reply

